DCA names squads for charity match

Kathmandu, April 4

Dhangadhi Cricket Academy today announced the squads of Nepal-XI and Dhangadhi-XI for the charity match to be held on the eve of the Sagarmatha Cement Dhangadhi Premier League slated for April 9-22 at the SSP cricket grounds in Dhangadhi.

National team skipper Paras Khadka will lead the Nepal-XI side, while former national cricketer Padam KC was named the captain of Dhangadhi-XI for the match, which will be played on the eve of the DPL, informed the organisers in a release today. According to the organisers, DCA, the funds raised from the match would be donated for the construction of Fapla Cricket Stadium.

Gyanendra Malla (vice-captain), Sharad Vesawkar, Shakti Gauchan, Basant Regmi, Sompal Kami, Sagar Pun, Binod Bhandari, Sandeep Lamichhane, Dilip Nath, Avinash Karn, Mehboob Alam, Arif Sheikh, Asif Sheikh, and Sushan Bhari are the other members in the Nepal-XI. National team head coach Jagat Tamatta is the coach, while Technical Analyst Raman Shiwakoti is the manager.

Likewise, Vijay Rana (vice-captain), Sunil Dhamala, Raju Rijal, Dipendra Singh Airee, Bhuwan Karki, Sagar Bhandari, Aayub Chand, Narayan Joshi, Bikram Thagunna, Roman Bam, Roshan Adhikari, Lokesh Bam, Bipin Rawal and Amit Padal are the other players who will represent the local team. Kishan Mahat and Lalit Chand are coach and manager respectively.

Six franchise-based teams are competing in the DPL with top two teams getting Rs 1.5 million and Rs 700,000 respectively.

National cricket team players Paras Khadka (Team Chauraha Dhangadhi), Gyanendra Malla (CYC Attariya), Sharad Vesawkar (Biratnagar Kings), Basant Regmi (Kathmandu Goldens), Shakti Gauchan (Rupandehi Challengers) and Binod Bhandari (Kanchanpur Iconic) will lead their teams in the tournament. The six captains were picked up by the owners for Rs 100,000 each, while the teams bought other members from the first-ever players’ auction.