Dhoni named captain of ICC World one-day team

India's wicket-keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been named captain of the International Cricket Council (ICC) World One-Day Team of Year, it was announced here on Thursday.

The team was chosen by a specially-appointed selection panel, chaired by West Indian batting legend Clive Lloyd, the ICC said in a statement.

"It was a very difficult task in selecting this year's ODI team, but looking at the line-up I feel it has great balance and depth. It would be a formidable team," said Lloyd.

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former cricketers Anil Kumble of India, Pakistan's Mudassar Nazar, New Zealand's Stephen Fleming and Bob Taylor of England.

Dhoni also leads India in all formats of the game -- Test, one-day and Twenty20.

ICC World ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

Virender Sehwag (IND), Chris Gayle (WIS), Kevin Pietersen (ENG), Tillakaratne Dilshan (SRI), Yuvraj Singh (IND), Martin Guptill (NZL), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND, capt), Andrew Flintoff (ENG), Nuwan Kulasekara (SRI), Ajantha Mendis (SRI), Umar Gul (PAK). 12th man: Thilan Thushara (SRI)