Friends win Sun Moon Peace Cup

KATHMANDU: Raj Kumar Ghising scored the winner in the 113the minute as Friends Club beat Machhindra Club 3-2 to win the Sun Moon Peace Cup, organised by Inter-religious and International Federation for World Peace - Nepal, at National Police Academy today. The match went to extra time after both the teams were deadlocked at 2-2 in 90-minute normal time. Friends Club took lead in the 13th minute through Sishir Adhikar, while Deepak Rai netted an equaliser in the 22nd minute. Machhindra Club went ahead through Arjun Rijal’s goal in the 27th minute, while Birat Thapa levelled the scores to 2-2 in the 42nd minute. Rijal was later named the man of the match. The winners Friends Club received Rs 200,000 and the runners-up Machindra Club got Rs 100,000. With eight goals to his credit, Prakash Karki of hosts Sun Moon ‘A’ received the highest scorer’s award, while Birat Thapa of Friends Club was declared the best player. Mahendra Police Club won the fair play award. — HNS