Goals galore as Birgunj advance

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, July 5:

The 10th day of the ‘C’ Division League football tournament saw 51 goals scored in four matches. Birgunj Youth Academy scored 18 goals in their victory over Sankata Club. The 18-1 win means they are through to the Super League from Group ‘C’ on better goals to Annapurna

Club and Satdobato Youth Club. All the three clubs accumulated nine points each. Gyan Bhairav and Naxal Yuva Mandal have already entered the Super League, which will be completed after a team from Group ‘D’ join them on Wednesday. The Super League will be played from Friday. Krishna Shakya scored seven goals for Birgunj in the match played at newly-built FIFA Technical Centre ground at Chyasal, while Umesh Chaudhari netted four goals.

Niranjan Patel and Sami Ullah Ansari struck a hat-trick each and Krishna Mani Chaudhari scored one for Birgunj. Chandan Singh Karki scored a consolation goal for Sankata. In a Group C match held at Sano Gaucharan, Raju Lama scored a hat-trick as Satdobato Club beat Chakrapath Youth Club 6-3. Sabin Pariyar, Suresh Gurung and Ravi Lama also scored for Satdobato. For Chakrapath, Bishal Gurung struck twice and Ishwor Gurung netted one goal.

In a Group D match, Swayambhu Club thrashed Kalika Mahabir Club 17-0. Bikey Lama scored five, Navin Gurung got four, Sonam Lama, Manoj Chaudhary and Sanjaya Lama scored two each, and Bikram Lama and Bijay BC scored one each. In the other match, Bansbari Youth Club blanked Navajyoti Youth Pariwar 6-0. Narayan Khadka and Rajendra Suwal scored two goals each, while Santosh Shrestha and Niran Bista got one apiece. On Wednesday, Battispu-tali Club will take on Bansbari, and Navajyoti will play against Kalika Mahabir.