Gyan Bhairav Club win ‘C’ Div League

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, July 11:

Gyan Bhairav Club became the Martyrs’ Memorial ‘C’ Division League champions when they defeated Birgunj Youth Academy 2-1 in the last match of the Super League here today.

Gyan Bhairav accumulated seven points while Birgunj four from three matches each. A goal each from Ramesh Man Singh Basnet and Raju Krishna Shrestha helped Gyan Bhairav Club top the league table. Niranjan Patel scored a consolation goal for Birgunj. In another match, skipper Niran Bista scored a hat-trick as Bansbari Club thrashed Naxal Youth Mandal 8-0 and qualified for the ‘B’ Division.

Bansbari accumulated five points, with a win and two draws to join already qualified Birgunj Youth Academy and Gyan Bhairav Club in the ‘B’ Division.

The champions recieved Rs 25,000 while Bansbari got Rs 15,000 and Birgunj pursed Rs 10,000. Former national football skippers Raju shakya and Upendra Man Singh gave away prizes to the winners.

Bansbari took lead in the 18th minute through skipper Bista when he converted a 30-yarder free kick directly. Nisan Gurung doubled the tally in the 33rd minute following skipper Bista’s pass from the left flank. Niran Bista, on his solo effort, added another goal for Bansbari two minutes into the second half. In the 44th minute, Narayan Khadka made it 4-0 taking advantage of a defensive error.

Nisan Gurung scored his second and the team’s fifth goal in the 47th minute. In the 69th minute, Bansbari skipper Bista completed his hat-trick, scoring the sixth goal for his team following Bharat Lama’s cross inside the D-Box. Umesh Lama, in the 72nd minute scored the seventh goal and Bharat Lama saled the victory six minutes later.