Hira wins CG Squash C’ship

LALITPUR: Fifteen-time national champion Hira Bahadur Thapa clinched the second CG Open Squash Championship here Sunday.

Hira rallied for a 11-13, 11-5, 11-9, 11-6 victory over Suresh Gurung to win the Men's Open title. Hira, national champion since 1994, was awarded with a color LG Television for his effort. Bhawana Sunuwar claimed the Ladies Open championship with a 11-7, 11-8, 11-3 win over Chhitiz Gurung.

Likewise, Suresh Gurung won the Veterans' Open (Above-45yrs) title. Suresh beat Lal Bahadur Gurung in straight sets. Ladies' and Veterans' Open champions received micro ovan each as awards. Amrit Thapa claimed the Junior Boys (Under-15) championship with straight sets win over Prabin Gurung. Amrit also got an LG 14” colour television. Meanwhile, Krishna Shrestha won the Men's Open Plate Championship with a 3-1 sets victory over Anil Ratna Shakya.

A total of 55 players participated in the tournament organised by Nepal Squash Racket Association under the sponsorship of CG Electronics of Chaudhary Group.

The tournament included four events — Men's, Ladies, Boys' U-15 and Veterans' Open. Treasurer of the National Sports Council Ajar Manandhar and Ashok Khanna of the Chaudhary Group gave away the prizes.