India bounce back to win Gaekwad Golf

KATHMANDU: India bounced back on the second day to win the Gaekwad invitational Golf tournament here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Nepal earned 18.5 points to take lead by 2.5 points after the first round but the visitors scored 21 points — nine wins and two halved in Main matches and two wins in Bye matches — for a total of 37 points. Played under four-ball-better-ball match play format, Nepal scored 11.5 points on the second day and ended up at overall 30 points. Nepal won just four of the 15 Main matches on the second day. Two of the Main matches were halved while the hosts won three Bye matches.

Among individuals, Tashi Ghale of Nepal won the longest drive award, while Murad Talib of India bagged the closest to the pin and straightest drive awards. Ashish Goel of India earned the honour of Hole-in-One on Hole No 5.

UK Dayanand and Peter Morris of the Indian side became the best winning pair for the second successive day when they went seven up with six holes remaining against Nepal's duo of Suhrid Ghimire and Maj NK Rai. In all, 60 players — 30 in each side — played a total of 30 matches in the two-day event.

Meanwhile, Eu Hazur Thapa maintained her lead to win the Ladies Category with the score of 31 stableford points. Pavitra Yakthuma came second with 27 points in the 18-hole tournament. In the Diplomatic Category, German Ambassador to Nepal Verena Gräfin von Roedern emerged victorious with 59 points over the 36 holes. Myanmar Ambassador to Nepal U Thet Oo came second with 48 points. Kendra Bikram Shah won the Guest Category trophy ahead of Binaya Raj Pandey.

Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation Sharat Singh Bhandari gave away the prizes to the winners.