India win ladies’ championship

Kathmandu, November 2:

The Indian team won the women’s section championship of the Surya Nepal Ninth SAARC Golf Championship at the Le Meridien Gokarna Forest Golf Resort and Spa.

It was Saweta Galande’s turn today to play better, with a card of four over 76 while her teammate Nalini Singh finished with 79 for a team total of 314.

Sri Lanka’s Dhanushi Senadhira and Niloo Jayatilake came second with a total of 350. Pakistan (376) finished third ahead of Nepal (387), Bangladesh (398) and Bhutan (483). Nepal’s Kesang Lama (95, 100) and Shastika Shrestha (96, 96) failed to play to their potential.

In men’s section, Sri Lanka (282) and Nepal (288) qualified for the Saturday’s final. Sri Lanka’s Mithun Perera shot another consistent round of 70. Sri Lanka had a total of six under par after two rounds. Nepal came stronger today with Rabi Khadka shooting a superb three under 69, which helped Nepal to beat Pakistan. Rupak Acharya finished at one over 73.

In final, Sri Lanka’s Mithun Perera, K Prabagaran and Tisa Chandradasha will face Nepal’s Rabi Khadka, Rupak Acharya and Tashi Ghale.