Kalaiya make it three in a row, Ranchi win

Bara, May 12

Kalaiya Cricket Club defeated Mahabir Youth Committee by eight wickets for their third consecutive victory in the Jagshakti Sansad Cup Twenty20 Cricket Tournament here at the Sideshwar grounds today.

Batting first, Mahabir were bowled out for a paltry 77 runs in 19 overs before the hosts raced to 80-2 in 11.4 overs. Opener Anil Mandal top scored for Mahabir with 20-ball 24 that included four boundaries, while tail-ender Samsad Ansari (11) was the only others batsman to score in double figures.

Former national team skipper Binod Das (3-11) and current national team spinner Basant Regmi (3-11) shared six wickets between them for Kalaiya, while Sameer Nepal claimed 2-12. Das, who was playing at his home ground for the first time since taking retirement last year, was named the man-of-the-match.

In reply, Kalaiya openers Sunil Dhamala and Amit Shrestha added 38 runs before Pawan Sharraf and Dhamala took the team towards victory with another 36-run partnership for the second wicket. Sharraf then struck a six to finish off the game as Das did get the chance to face the ball.

Dhamala scored 28 off 34 balls hitting three fours and a six, while Shrestha struck a four and a six in his 16-ball 15. Sharraf remained unbeaten on 29 off just 22 balls that included three fours and a six. Raj Mohammad and Sobha Kant Pandey took a wicket each for Mahabir.

In another match, Ranchi Cricket Club defeated New Horizon Club by 11 runs to register their second win. Batting first, Ranchi were bowled out for 122 in 19.4 overs before restricting New Horizon to 111-9 in 20 overs. Saras Chaudhary top scored for Ranchi with 19 runs, while opener Paritosh Kumar and Atul Anand contributed 17 each. Nikhil Jaishwal (13) and Arpit Soundir (12) also scored in double figures.

Krishna Karki was the pick of New Horizon bowlers with the figures of 4-21 from four overs, while Dhiraj Shahi, Sushan Bhari and Ganesh Gaudel took two wickets each.

In reply, Ganesh Gaudel scored 31 off 36 balls with the help of a four and two sixes, while Raju Sahani struck two fours in his 28-ball 22. Nirmal Thapa (13) and Sandeep Sunar (12) were the other New Horizon batsmen to score in double figures. Paritosh Kumar of Ranchi completed his five-wicket haul taking 5-13 from four overs that also earned him the man-of-the-match award, while Manoj Murmu took two. Monty Singh and Atul Anand also pocketed one wicket each.

After the day’s results, Kalaiya are at the top of the five-team table with maximum six points from three matches, while Ranchi are second with four from two. Birat Cricket Society are third with two points, while New Horizon and Mahabir are yet to open their accounts. After the round-robin league, the top team will qualify for the final, while second and third place finishers will play the eliminator for a place in the championship match.