Bhandari, Rana win singles trophies

Lalitpur, October 14

Kamal  Bhandari and Mayanka Rana won the singles titles of the second Lalitpur  Districtwide National Open Tennis Tournament here today.

In the  men’s final, Bhandari defeated Santosh Khatri 7-6, 7-2, 6-2, while Rana thrashed Prerana Koirala 6-1, 6-2 in the women’s final. Bhandari, who teamed up with Mahesh Shrestha, also won men’s doubles title with a 6-2, 6-3 win against the pair of Santosh  Khatri and Aatmaram Karki. On Friday, the pair of Mahika Rana and Mayanka Rana had won the women’s doubles title.

The  winners and runners-up in the singles category got Rs 25,000 and Rs  15,000 respectively, while the losing semi-finalists received Rs 7,000 each. The top two finishers in doubles sections got  Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively, while losing semi-finalists earned Rs 2,500 each. Former President of All Nepal Lawn Tennis Association Manoj SJB Rana among others handed over the prizes to the winners.

Meanwhile,  ANLTA honoured Manoj SJB Rana for winning the above-55 singles category  title in the ITF Senior Circuit-I and finishing as runner-up in the doubles  section in Circuit-II along with Karimullah Muslim and Jhyampa Thanduk, who won the men’s doubles event of above-55 category title in Circuit-I,  and above-35 singles winner of Circuit-I Kamal Bhandari. The association also honoured newly-elected AIPS-Asia Treasurer Niranjan Rajbanshi.