Kathmandu, Bhairahawa thru

Kathmandu, September 24:

Region No-3 (Kathmandu) and Region N-4 (Bhairahawa) joined Region No-5 (Nepalgunj) and Region No-6 (Baitadi) in the semi-finals of the Wai Wai Women’s National Cricket Tournament after both the Wednesday’s match was abandoned due to rain here at the Tribhuvan University Stadium today.

The first match between Biratnagar and Kathmandu was abandoned midway while the second match between Birgunj and Bhairahawa was completely washed out meaning all four teams shared one point each.

Kathmandu piped Biratnagar in Group A while Bhairahawa sneaked past Birgunj on better Net Run-rate. Nepalgunj and Baitadi have already advanced to the last four as Group A and Group B winners with two wins from as many matches.

Put into bat first, Biratnagar scored 60-6 in their allotted 20 overs with most of their runs coming through sundries (26). Benja Rayamajhi top-scored with 11 runs and Sabina Karki and Mandira Basnet contributed seven runs each.

Silu Rijal took two wickets while Neera Rajopadhyaya, Gita Chudal, Sharadha Aryal and Sarita Magar took one wicket each for Kathmandu. The heavy downpour then washed out the entire Kathmandu innings to force a tie.

Kathmandu will take on Baitadi in the first semi-final on Thursday while Bhairahawa will meet Nepalgunj in the second semi-final the next day. The championship match will be played on Saturday.