Khukuri outplay Yeti

Bhairahawa, March 12:

Lumbini Khukuri Club defeated Yeti Airlines of Kathmandu by seven wickets and entered the semi-finals of the first Sir Edmund Hillary Memorial Raunak Indo-Nepal Twenty20 Cricket Tournament here on Wednesday.

Batting first at the Siddhartha Stadium, Yeti Airlines scored 84/9, while Khukuri overcame the target losing three wickets in 16.3 overs. Raj Shrestha top-scored for Yeti Airlines with unbeaten 17. Gyanendra Malla (16), Subhash Khakurel (13) and Kalam Ali (11) were the other batsmen to score in double figures. Rahul BK took 3 wickets, while Rakesh Barai and Bel bahadur Thapa claimed two each for Khukuri Club.

In reply, skipper Shakti Gauchan scored an unbeaten 45 off 48 balls including six fours and a six. Gauchan, who also took a wicket, was named the man of the match. Raju Basnet took two wickets for Yeti Airlines.

On Thursday, Lumbini Khukuri Club will play against hosts Professional Masters XI. SRB Banaras of India have already entered the final.