Lalit Memorial U-18 Football from Saturday

Lalitpur, June 7

The All Nepal Football Association is organising the Lalit Memorial U-19 Football Tournament from Saturday, marking the first death anniversary of the then acting president of the ANFA.

A total of 12 teams are in fray for the prestigious tournament. The participating teams are divided into four pools with top two making it to the quarter-finals after the group stage matches, said ANFA in a release today.

Laxmi Hyundai Manang Marshyangdi Club, Nepal APF Club and Jhapa-XI are in Group A, while Jawalakhel Youth Club, Tribhuvan Army Club and Jagadamba Lumbini FC are in Group B. Likewise, Ruslan Three Star Club, Sankata Club and Far-western Football Club are pitted in Group C, while Group F consists of Nepal Police Club, Morang FC and Saraswati Youth Club.

The tournament was announced by the ANFA in memory of Lalit Krishna Shrestha, who died of electrocution at his residence in Bhainsepati. Shrestha, who was the acting president of the football governing body at a time when President Ganesh Thapa had decided to remain out of the association to ease the probe by the FIFA Ethics Committee, was also the chief of the ANFA Academy. The ANFA has also decided to unveil the bust of Shrestha at the ANFA Complex before the opening ceremony.

MMC will take on APF in the inauguration match of the tournament. All other matches will be played at the Dasharath Stadium. The winners of the tournament will receive Rs 300,000, while the runners-up will get Rs 150,000. The five best individuals — defender, striker, midfielder, goalkeeper and coach — will be awarded with Rs 15,000 each.