Lalitpur heroes honoured

LALITPUR: The Laitpur District Sports Development Committee (LDSDC) felicitated the 11th South Asian Games medallists from the district with cash rewards here today.

Gold medallists Ayesha Shakya (taekwondo) and Binod Shakya (karate) were presented with Rs 20,000 each while the only silver medallist from the district Binod Maharjan (karate) was feted with Rs 15,000. The bronze medallists — Purushottam Bajracharya (table tennis), Sajan Krishna Tamrakar (badminton) and Rajan Joshi (judo) — at the Dhaka Games held from January 29 to February 9 were presented with Rs10,000. The coaches from the respective disciplines received felicitation letters.

Before the award ceremony, the medallists were taken for a public felicitation rally which began from Lagankhel buspark and went through Patan Durbar Square, Pulchowk before culminating at Jawalakhel sports grounds.

Meanwhile at a separate programme, Bishnu Auto Care Centre honoured the six taekwondo medallists.

As per their announcement before the January 29 to February 9 Games, gold medallists — Deepak Bista and Ayesha — received Rs 50,000 each while silver medallists Kumar Manandhar and Manita Shahi were awarded with Rs 15,000 apiece. Bronze medallists Yan Kumari Chaulagain and Dan Bahadur Airee earned Rs 10,000 each. Minister for Forest and Soil Conservation Deepak Bohora handed over the rewards to the medallists. Nepal's Korean taekwondo coach Kwan Young Dal was also honoured during the occasion.