Lions, Tigers in final

Kathmandu, October 12:

Nepal Lions and Kathmandu Tigers registered their consecutive second wins and entered the final of the Pulsar Twenty20 Super Cup Cricket Tournament at TU Stadium today.

The two teams will play each other in the league’s match on Saturday before meeting in Monday’s final. On Friday, Nepal Lions thrashed Corporate Giants by 122 runs, while Kathmandu Tigers defeated Shangri-La Sharks by 73 runs.

Put into bat by Corporate side, the Lions rode on half centuries from Sharad Vesawkar, Gyanendra Malla and Akash Gupta to amass 211/3 in before restricting Corporate Giants to 89/9. Vesawkar, who scored century on Thursday, made 40-ball 58 including three fours and five sixes.

Malla hammered four sixes and a four in his stroke-filled unbeaten 51 off 38 balls, while Gupta hit five fours and four sixes in his 30-ball 62.

Manish Shrestha was the top-scorer for Corporate Giants with 51-ball 43 including four fours and two sixes, while Prajwol Budhathoki remained unbeaten on 11. Avay Rana and man of the match Vesawkar took two wickets each for Lions.

In the other match, Kathmandu Tigers scored 169/7 and restricted Shangri-La Sharks to 96/7. Tigers skipper Paras Khadka top-scored in the match with 42-ball 66 that included nine fours and a six and also earned him the man of the match award, while Basanta Regmi made 22-ball 25 hitting two sixes and a boundary. Dipendra Chaudhary scored 17 off 15 balls.

Sujan Thapa and Deepak Gupta took two wickets for Sharks. Raju Thapa hit four sixes in his 9-ball 27 for the Sharks, while Bijay Gautam scored 21 off 24 balls. Sanjam Regmi took 3-25 and Raju Basnet claimed 2-8 for the Tigers.