Local briefs

Deshar wins 10km

LALITPUR: Bikash Deshar won the men’s open 10km run organised by Lalitpur District Sports Development Committee to mark the golden jubilee of Anandaban Hospital here on Tuesday. Sabin Deshar and Yadav Dahal finished second and third respectively. Depak Deshar of Jyotidaya School claimed the School-level boys’ 5km race ahead of Shanker Maharjan of Shree Padma Vidhyashram and Astaman Lama of Devi School. Mina Lama of Bhimsen Boarding School won the School-level girls’ 3km race followed by Pratichhya Basnet of Shree Padma and Rina Shrestha of Saraswoti School. — HNS

U-14 Subroto Cup

KATHMANDU: Nepali team registered a crushing 5-0 win over Uttaranchal Team of India at the Under-14 Subroto Mukherjee Cup Football Tournament in New Delhi on Tuesday. Samir Limbu struck twice while Rupesh KC, Laxman Mahat and Sulabh Maskey scored one each. The Nepali team was scheduled to play against New Delhi team but the latter withdrew, said ANFA here on Tuesday. — HNS