local briefs

Rating chess

KATHMANDU: International Master (IM) Shanker Roy of India claimed a solo lead after beating compatriot Bipul Subhasi in the sixth round of the Indo-Nepal Friendly Rating Chess Tournament on Thursday. Another Indian IM, Saptarishi Roy and Roktim Bandhopadhyaya played a draw and are tied for second along with IM Atanu Lahari, who defeated Nepal’s Manish Hamal, with five points. Surbir Lama, Balram Napit, Prem Krishna Maharjan and Rajan Chhetri are next with 4.5 points each. Sitaram Agrawal, Lava Kumar Shrestha, Punyaman Karmacharya, Manish Hamal and Sagar Dangol have four points each. Prachanda Malakar and Niraj Malakar are next with 3.5 points each. — HNS

Karate tourney

KATHMANDU: Balaju Dojo claimed three gold, two silver and a bronze to finish first in the Kathmandu District Open Karate Tournament on Thursday. Baneshwor came second with two each gold, silver and bronze medals while Bouddha Dojo was third with one gold, two silver and four bronze medals. In all, 175 men and 95 women participated in 11 categories — six in men and five in women. The championship was organised by Nepal International Martial Arts Dojo. — HNS

U-19 basketball

KATHMANDU: Robin Khatri netted 29 points as RIBS eased past Ace Institute 90-32 in the Mohan Pradhan Memorial U-19 Basketball Tournament. In other matches, Prime defeated LRI 61-36 and Nepal Basketball Academy overwhelmed National Integrated College 70-32. In Friday’s quarter-finals, Lincoln will take on LRI, Prime will meet NBA, RIBS are up against Gyanodaya and Wilson face Ace. — HNS

Shuttlers depart

LALITPUR: A 16-member team from Lalitpur is leaving for Chitwan on Friday to take part in the 32nd National Championship to be held in Chitwan. The team includes Ganesh Chand, Prakash Rai, Bimal Shr-estha, Rajbabu Maharjan, Tanka Bahadur Sunuwar, Ang Dawa Sherpa, Bijendra Shrestha and Sunil Shakya (senior section), Milan Kumar Rai and Durga Pun (U-19) and Bishal Rai, Nirmal Rai, Hari Kala Rana and Jayanti Rai (U-16). MB Sunuwar and Subash Rai are the coach and manager respectively. At the farewell ceremony, Lalitpur District Badminton Association president YB Ghale said he would present the bid to host the 33rd edition in Lalitpur. — HNS