Local briefs

Gauchan hits century

KATHMANDU: Sangita Gauchan hammered a century as Greenland Children’s Academy (GCA) thrashed Bhanubhakta Memorial School by 201 runs at the second GCA Inter-school Girls’ Cricket Tournament on Friday. Both GCA entered the semi-finals as the Group A winners, while Bhanubhakta advanced as the runners-up. Batting first, GCA scored 229/4 in their allotted 25 overs and then packed Bhanubhakta for just 28 runs in 12.2 overs. Woman of the match Gauchan hit four fours in her 58-ball knock, while Gita Chudal scored 76 off 41 balls including two boundaries. In reply, none of the Bhanubhakta players got double figures. Karuna Lama took three wickets, while Mallika Basnet claimed two for GCA. — HNS

Gyan Niketan win

LALITPUR: Wilson Academy defeated The New Summit School 40-26 at the Lalitpur Districtwide Basketball Championship here on Friday. Anil Pandey of Wilson top-scored with 17 points for the winners, while Manish Thapa netted 12 points for New Summit. In the other match, Gyan Niketan beat Malpi 28-12. Manoj got 13 for Gyan Niketan and Subodh scored eight for Malpi. — HNS

Nitu clinches gold

KATHMANDU: Nitu Thapa of Nepal Police won the 48kg section gold medal at the third Women and 18th Men’s National Weightlifting Championship that began here on Friday. Thapa lifted 50kg in snatch and 60kg in clean and jerk for a total of 110kg. Kabita Chaudhary of Saptari (83kg) and Asha Chaudhary of Kailali (73kg) came second and third respectively. In women’s 53kg section, Devi Kumari Chaudhary of Nepal Police lifted a total of 115kg to win the gold medal, ahead of Pramila Kumari Chaudhary of Siraha (75kg) and Kailali’s Prabha Chaudhary (75kg). Bikash Thapa of Parsa won the men’s 56-kg section gold with a lift of 185kg, while Punu Tandukar (165kg) and Laxman Ranjit (157kg), both from Kathmandu, came second and third respectively. A total of 101 lifters from 17 districts and two departmental teams — 76 men in eight and 25 women in seven weight categories — are taking part in the three-day event. — HNS

BGA, BSAM in final

LALITPUR: Bishwo Gorkha Academy (BGA) and Birendra Sainik Awasiya Mahavidyalaya (BSAM) entered the final of the Coca Cola Cup Inter-school Football Tournament. Bishwo Gorkha defeated Gitamata School 3-2 on penalties. Anjesh Khadgi and Bishal Bal scored for Bishwo Gorkha, while Gitamata got a goal from Santosh Neupane and an own goal from Bishwo Gorkha’s Sushan Chauhan. In tiebreaker, Sudan Bardewa, Anjesh Khadgi and Dinesh Mainali scored for Bishwo Gorkha while Pasang Lama and Rakesh Thapa converted their spot kicks for Gitamata. In the other semi-final, Birendra Sainik beat Siddhartha Vanasthali 2-1. Bikram Shrestha and Sujan Gurung scored for BSAM while BSAM’s Milan Poudel netted an own goal. The third-place and final are slated for Sunday. — HNS