Local briefs

NNIPA welcomes unification

KATHMANDU: Nepal National and International Players’ Association (NNIPA) on Monday welcomed the “emotional unification” of the two FAs — All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) and Nepal Football Association (NFA). The two FAs reached an agreement on Sunday to work together putting aside the two years of uncertainty in Nepali football. “We appeal the concerned authorities to exhibit the similar commitments in the days to come so that the players are not deprived of their rights to play,” said the NNIPA in a release. — HNS

AJS Cup volleyball

KATHMANDU: Annal Jyoti Boarding School (AJS) is organising the eighth Valleywide Inter-school Volleyball Tournament in Lalitpur from December 10-13. The event features three categories — boys, mini boys and girls section. Twelve teams each in boys and mini boys’ sections and 10 teams in girls’ section will compete for the championships, said the organisers here at a press meet on Monday. Meanwhile, the organisers said that the school had established an AJS Volleyball Fund of Rs 100,000 this year. The fund will be used to provide scholarships to two talented students (a boy and a girl) from next year. — HNS

St Xavier’s triumph

LALITPUR: St Xavier’s (Jawalakhel) and Machhapuchhre International School won their respective league matches of the 13th Fr Moran Memorial Inter-school Football Tournament here on Monday. Karna Thapa and Nayan Jobegu scored a goal each as St Xavier’s (Jawalakhel) beat Gyanodaya 2-0 and Machhapuchhre also recorded the similar scoreline victory over the hosts St Xavier’s (Godavari) ‘A’ team. Dharma Raj Thapa and Ashim Maharjan scored a goal each for Machhapuchhre. Also, Rose Bud beat Jyoti Academy 2-0 in another match with Sunil Ramjali and Ashutosh Dhungana scoring for the winners. — HNS

‘B’ Division League

KATHMANDU: Gyan Bhairav Club and Bouddha Football Club played a goalless draw in the Martyrs Memorial ‘B’ Division League, organised by the Nepal Football Association, here at the Dasharath Stadium on Monday. On Tuesday, Brigade Boys Club will take on Pulchowk Sports Club and United Youth Club will play against Star Club at the same venue. — HNS

Twenty20 cricket

KATHMANDU: The students of Budhanilkantha School are organising the second Aaditya Memorial Inter-college Twenty20 Cricket Tournament here on December 9-23. In all, 15 teams will compete in the tournament played under league-cum-knockout format, said the organisers here at a press meet on Monday. The participating teams are defending champions Himalayan White House College, Budhanilkantha School (BNKS) ‘A’, BNKS ‘B’, Budhanilkantha Ex-11, Capital College and Research Centre, Classic International College, Everest International College, Kathmandu Academy, National Campus of Business Studies, NIST, Saipal Academy, SOS Herman Gmeiner College, British School, Trinity College and Triton College. — HNS

Unique, NIMS win

KATHMANDU: Hosts Unique and Nitin Memorial School (NIMS) registered victories in the girls’ section matches here at the fourth Unique Inter-school Basketball Tournament on Monday. Unique beat Kantipur 27-19 riding on 11 point from Ashmita Rai while Mina Gautam netted 19 points as NIMS overwhelmed Lyceum 39-9. In other girls’ section matches, New Shrine edged past Riviera 12-2 and Suryodaya beat Constellation 19-12. Winners in the junior boys’ section include Mt Glory, New Shrine, RIA, Daffodil and Young Hearts. Mt Glory sneaked past Gyan Niketan 23-21, New Shrine thrashed Cambridge 25-6, Daffodil defeated Unique 35-28, RIA overcame Lyceum 12-10 and Young Hearts outplayed Sri Diwa 29-2. — HNS