Local briefs

Bijeshwori win

KATHMANDU: Bijeshwori School claimed the team championship of the first VS Niketan Valleywide Inter-school Table Tennis Tournament here on Tuesday. Bijeshwori won six gold, two silver and two bronze medals. Adarsha Vidhya Mandir (AVM) finished second with one gold, two silver and three bronze medals. Raju Shrestha of AVM and Siddhikiya Acharya of DAV were declared the best U-12 players. Bijay Bhatta of Canvas School and Renuka Khatri of Bijeshwori were named the best players in Under-14 category. Likewise, Rajiv Thapa and Susrita KC, both from VS Niketan, were named the best players in the Under-16 section. — HNS

U-17 enter final

KATHMANDU: ANFA U-17 team advanced to the final of the Independence Day Cup Football Tournament in Sikkim with 3-2 win over Sinoluchu Namche on Tuesday. ANFA skipper Nirajan Malla scored the winner five minutes into the extra-time after a 2-2 draw in the normal time. Malla and Sujan KC had scored a goal each in the regular time. The Nepali team will play the final on Friday against the winner of the match between Sikkim Football Academy and Sorang Football Team. — HNS

Intensive in final

KATHMANDU: Hosts Intensive International Academy and Gillette School entered the junior boys’ final at the second Intensive Inter-school Basketball Tournament here on Tuesday. Intensive edged out Whitefield 25-23 and Gillette overcame Arunodaya 46-36 in the semi-finals. In the senior boys’ section semi-finals, Nitin Memorial beat Intensive 62-38 and Mt Glory defeated Wilson Academy 63-47. Likewise, Nitin Memorial cruised to a crushing 34-4 victory over Whitefield and Marshyangdi saw off Galaxy 16-9 in the girls’ section semi-finals. All the finals are scheduled for Saturday. — HNS

Franklin Cup

KATHMANDU: Mahendra Bhawan Higher Secondary School is organising the Franklin Cup second Inter-school Girls Basketball Tournament here from Thursday. In all, 14 teams are participating in the tournament. Top two teams from each group will advance to the knockout stage. The participating teams are defending champions Rato Bangala, Green Lawn, Wilson Academy, Suryodaya, Mahandra Bhawan, Malpi International, Loyalty, Gyan Niketan, Prithvi School, LRI, Penwood and Sri Diwa. — HNS