Local briefs

Intensive advance

KATHMANDU: Hosts Intensive International Academy made it to the senior boys’ section quarter-finals with a 50-45 win over Wilson Academy in the second Intensive Basketball Tournament here on Saturday. Wilson also advanced to the last eight despite the defeat. Oasis cruised through after defeating Nalanda School 36-21 in the senior boys’ section. In the junior boys’ matches, Oasis overcame Rupy’s International 21-19, Gillette crushed Siddhartha Vanasthali 29-3 and Angel’s Heart beat Zennith 16-9. — HNS

Bijendra wins

KATHMANDU: Back after four years of absence, Bijendra Maharjan won the Open Chess Tournament here on Sunday when he played a draw with veteran player Sita Ram Agrahari. Four players — Bijendra, Rajan Chhetry, Uttam Raj Thapa and Deepak Maharjan — were tied on top with equal seven points after the final ninth round, meaning that the players’ progressive points were counted to decide the winner. After Bijendra and Rajan were again tied with 39 progressive points, Bijendra won the title on progressive cut. Uttam Raj came third and Deepak finished fourth on better progressive points. Hari Chandra Pariyar, who earned six points, was adjudged the rising star. Top three winners received Rs 5,000, Rs $,000 and Rs 3,000 respectively. Seven other players finishing in the top 10 also got cash prizes. Newa Rastriya Mukti Morcha organised the event. — HNS

Players selected

KATHMANDU: Narayani Zone picked up 11 men and nine women players on Saturday for the fifth Senior and Sixth Junior National Taekwondo (ITF) Championship slated for September 12-14 in Pokhara. Among the men players selected are Biswas Cha-udhary, Kanchan Chaudhary, Krishna Shiwakoti, Sitaram Chaudhary, Sunil Bartaula, Rabin Daria, Radhaman Tamang, Avinash Chaudhary, Manoj Chaudhary, Ajay Lama and Durga Shrestha. Selected for the women’s event in the national championships are Sujina Malla, Ashmita Pathak, Durga Pathak, Sushma Khadka, Radhika Chaudhary, Sony Gurung, Malati Tamang, Soma Lama and Ranju Thapa. — HNS

Wadokai champion

KATHMANDU: Wadokai Karate claimed the team championship with eight gold medals here at

the first Nasir Khan Memorial Karate Tournament on Saturday. Suraj Shrestha of Shotokan

Karate was adjudged the best male player and Sharmila Thapa Magar of Nawa Yuva Dojo was declared the best women karateka. Managing Director of Vijay Motors Pvt Ltd Chandra Dhakal among others gave away the prizes to the winners of the event. — HNS

Pokhara-XI in semis

KATHMANDU: Pokhara-XI advanced to the semi-finals of the Inter-zonal Football Tournament with a 2-0 victory over Nawalparasi in Gorkha on Saturday. Bijay Gurung gave Pokhara the 28th minute lead before man of the match Naresh doubled their lead in the 64th minute. Pokhara-XI will play Hairans Club of Tanahu and Himalayan Sherpa will take on hosts All Star Club in the semi-finals on Sunday. — HNS