Local round up

Sherpa wins Festival of Light golf trophy

KATHMANDU: Ang Tsering Sherpa won the Festival of Light Golf Tournament here at the Royal Nepal Golf Club (RNGC) today. Played under stableford 3/4 handicap format, Sherpa accumulated 38 points to lift the trophy organised by the RNGC on the occasion of Deepawali. Tashi Sherpa came second on count back after he was tied with Tashi Ghale at 35 points.

Ghale bagged the gross section title and the longest drive award

on the Hole No 11. Sumitra Dayananda won the ladies section title with 20 points, while Mi Ran

Ki came second with 19 points.

Maj Bejoy Moktan was victorious in the senior section on count back, while Brig Gen Mohan Bahadur Adhikary was second. Both the players scored 27 points. Ojasvi CB Singh won the most birdies award with two birdies under his belt, where as Rabindra Man Shrestha bagged the closest to the pin award on Hole No 12. RNGC President Madhukar Yakthumba and RNGC Captain Rabindra Man Shrestha gave away prizes to the winners. — HNS

Mote felicitated

FATTEPUR: Eastern Region Technical Committee recently felicitated International Karate Referee Bishan Mote during the recently concluded Eatern Region Karate Tournament here. Mote was one of the two referees from Jhapa to have successfully passed the ninth AKF Referee Seminar held in China on September 20-28. Mote was among the 14 Nepali to attain the degree in China. Mote was honoured on Wednesday in the presence of chief coach of Nepal Karate Federation (NKF) Mahesh Kumar Shrestha and Nepal Shito-Ryu Karate Association President and NKF General Secretary Kedar Babu Siwakoti. — HNS

Sunar wins gold

KATHMANDU: Amar Bahadur Sunar won the eight-km running competition, organised by Grand Vision Multiple Cooperative Ltd (GVMCL) to mark its third anniversary and Dipawali, here on Saturday. Sunar timed 31 minutes, 20 seconds to win the gold medal. Hari Nagarkoti ended up second in 32 minutes, seven seconds while Bhakta Ram Shrestha finished third in 33 minutes, 29 seconds. The top three runners received Rs 3,000, Rs 2,000 and Rs 1,000 respectively. The race began from Gokarna and went through Sundarijal before culminating at the starting point. Pitambar Timilsina, Vice President of the National Sports Council, gave away prizes to the winners. — HNS

Janasewa triumph

BKAKTAPUR: Janasewa Bikash Mandal defeated Chitrupur 25-21, 25-23, 25-23 in the final of the

Nationwide Invitational Men's

Volleyball Tournament, organised by Youth Sports Group of Bhaktapur, here at the Martrys Memorial

Sports Grounds. In the third-place playoff, the hosts beat Sprindell English School 25-15, 25-15, 25-21. Satya Rama Nisutu of Janasewa was declared the best player of the tournament. CA Member and Chairman of Nepal Workers and Peasants

Party Narayan Man Bijukchhe gave away prizes to the winners of the eight-team event. — HNS