Local round-up : Prayash’s effort in vain, Kathmandu Khel Mandal in final

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, June 3:

Kathmandu Khel Mandal (KKM) beat Jam United by 67 runs and entered the final of the Shanti Trophy 2005, which has been organised by Rudramati United Club, here today. KKM will face Baluwatar Cricket Club in Sunday’s final. Batting first after skipper Raj Shrestha won the toss at Siphal ground, KKM accumulated 262 runs losing seven wickets in their allotted 30 overs, riding on Suraj Basnet’s 71. KKM started badly losing Niraj Bhattarai for one run, but opener Niraj Basnet (37) and Suraj Basnet revived the innings adding 91 runs for the second wicket. Basnet hit 12 fours in his 60-ball innings. Ashis KC scored 44 off 38 balls, while skipper Shrestha was out for 19 runs, and Saroj Lal scored 22 off just 12 balls. Santosh KC remained unbeaten on 12. For Jam United, Deepak Singh took three wickets conceding 42 runs in six overs. Maishal Thapa got two wickets.

In reply, Jam United could muster 195 runs losing eight wickets, despite a brilliant innings by Prayash KC (95) and two good partnerships. Openers Tenzing Sherpa and Prayash put up 47 runs for the first wicket before Sherpa’s dismissal for six runs. Prayash added another 103 runs for the second wicket with Cabeth Chand, who scored 40 off 45 balls, but could not get help from others as wickets kept tumbling and no other batsmen could reach double figure mark. Prayash hit 16 fours and a six in his 88-ball 95. For KKM, Niraj Basnet took 4-24 off four overs and earned the man of the match award. Raj Shretha supported well with 3-45 off five overs.

NBA announce national players

KATHMANDU: Nepal Basketball Association today selected 12 players for the national team. The players were selected from the 22-member camp held at Little Angels’ School since last 15 days. The selected players are Ajay Manandhar, Bijay Khatri, Bikash Shahi, Bipendra Maharjan, Manish Lama, Rabindra Maharjan, Rupak Gurung, Sandesh Giri, Sanjaya Byanjankar, Sasir Maharjan, Surbat Rajopadhyaya, and Tenzing Dorje. According to the association, the selected players will get a 27-day training at Patiala, India, ahead of Middle Asia Zone qualifying tournament to be held at Talkatora Indoor Stadium of New Delhi from July 6-10. The team, under the coaching of Dinesh Chandra Nakarmi, will leave for India on June 6.

B’day Cup football

KATHMANDU: All Nepal Football Association is organising the Birthday Cup Football Tournament from June 8 to mark the 59th birthday of King Gyanendra. In all 18 teams — 15 ‘A’ division clubs including three newly promoted Bouddha Football Club, Machhindra Club and departmental team of Armed Police Force —and three Indian clubs — United Keurseong Football Club, Sikkim Football Association and CT Young Football Club of Dehra Dun — are taking part in the tournament. Out of the estimated cost of Rs 1,590,000, the winners will be richer by Rs 100,000 while the runners-up will get Rs 50,000.

Chess body reformed

KATHMANDU: A meeting of Nepal Chess Association on Wednesday decided to form its new ad hoc body. Sitaram Agrahari has been retained as the president, while Arun Shrestha, Arun Baidhya and Prakash Sijapati are the vice presidents. Bhawani Limbu is the general secretary, whereas Bidur Gautam and Rajendra Prasad Shrestha are the secretary and treasurer of the new body. Hira Bahadur Sthapit, Jyoti Basnet, Sujendra Prasad Shrestha, Hira Dangol, Basanta Bahadur Singh, Badri Lal Nepali, Hirakaji Maharjan, and Krishna Mohan Shrestha are the members. Bal Krishna Prajapati, Shree Ram Shrestha, Chandu Narayan Suddhakar, Laxmi Narayan Tapadia, Punya Man Karmacharya, Dr Raj Kumar Rauniyar, and Punya Ratna Sthapit are the advisors of the committee.