Madhyapur qualify

Kathmandu, July 16:

Madhyapur Youth Association qualified for the C Division League after winning their Group B final 3-1 against Marlyn Club Nepal here today.

Raju Sinkeman put Madhyapur ahead early in the first minute and Rahul Manandhar added the second in the 35th. Sinkeman made it 3-0 eighth minutes later to guide the Lalitpur-based team to the C Division. Pramod Rai pulled back one for Marlyn in the 78th minute.

Madhyapur became the second team after Bhagwati Club to qualify for the League. Bhagwati qualified from Group A on Monday. Winners of the four groups qualify for the League.

Also today, Lucky Boys Club and Bindabasini Youth Club advanced to the quarter-finals in Group D. Lucky Boys registered an easy 3-0 win over Balkhu United Club with Buddha Lama scoring twice and Nabin Rai scoring another the third goal.

Lama scored in the 40th and 80th minute while Rai scored in the 59th.

Bindabasini bounced back from a goal down to edge out Mahendreswor Youth Club 2-1. Nirakar Thapa Magar gave Mahendreswor the 49th minute lead but Bharat Gurung ‘A’ found the equaliser in the 64th minute. Bharat Gurung ‘B’ then scored the winner in the last minute, 80th, of the game.