Mahavir zoom into semis

Himalayan News Service

Lalitpur, January 5:

Mahavir Cricket Club thrashed Pragatisheel Youth Club by 10 wickets and entered the semi-finals of the Shyam Chaityanya Baba Memorial Winter Trophy Cricket Tournament, which has been organised by Cricket Association of Lalitpur here today.

Batting first after winning the toss at St Xavier’s School ground, Pragatisheel Youth Club were bowled out for 30 runs — the lowest score of the tournament so far — in 11.5 overs.

Radheshyam Mishra top-scored in the innings with 12 off 16 balls including two fours, while Manan Miya scored 10 off 17 balls. Other batsmen failed to reach the double figure mark.

For Mahavir Cricket Club — which is full of star players including new national team skipper Binod Das and former skippers Raju Khadka and Paresh Lohani — seamer Binod Das returned with the best figures of 2-1-1-3, which earned him the man of the match honours. Dhirendra Chand, Dharmendra Mishra and another national team seamer Mehboob Alam took two wickets each for Mahavir. In reply, Mahavir overcame the target without loss in just 1.3 overs. Opener Mehboob Alam hit two sixes in his unbeaten 14 off just five balls, including two sixes, while other opener Prafulla Baidya remained unbeaten on run-a-ball four.

Mahavir Cricket Club will play against United Chabahil in Friday’s semi-final match. On Thursday, Baluwatar Cricket Club will take on Baluwatar Training Centre in the last quarter-final of the tournament at the same venue.