Manang hammer Boys Union

Kathmandu, March 7:

Anil Gurung scored five goals as Carlsberg Manang Marsyangdi Club (MMC) rout Boys Union Club (BUC) 11-2 while Machhindra Energizer Club rallied from three goals down for a 3-3 draw with Sony Ranipokhari Corner Team (RCT) at the Martyrs Memorial San Miguel ‘A’ Division League Football today.

With the results, MMC ended their league campaign fourth with 55 points while Machhindra secured the sixth position with 39 points. RCT wrapped up their outing 10th with 27 and BUC 12th with 18 points.

Apart from Anil Gurung, Raj Kumar Ghising and Saheed Olowonifila scored two goals apiece followed by one goal each from Nirajan Khadka and Nurudeen Salau. Nirmal Chhetri and Amir Karki replied for Boys Union. Sajesh Shrestha struck twice and Rajan Gauchan scored the other for RCT before Deepak Rai scored a hat-trick for Machhindra.

Anil Gurung opened scoring in the fourth minute before adding another six minutes and Nirajan added third in the 27th. Anil scored three more goals to surpass Bikarna Shrestha of Tribhuvan Army Club in the highest scorer’s list. Anil ended up 31 goals while Bikarna has 27. Nirmal Chhetri pulled back one in the 39th minute.

After the break, Ghising (50th, 71st) and Saheed (57th, 73rd) added two goals each before Nurudeen completed the rout in the 74th. Amir scored the second for BUC in the 86th minute.

MMC coach Chhiring Lopsang Gurung conceded silly mistakes and injuries marred their race for the title. “We have proved our technical brilliance,” said Gurung adding he was satisfied with overall performance.

In the second game, Rajan Gauchan put RCT ahead in the fourth minute before Sajesh added another in the 44th. Sajesh scored his second and the team’s third one minute into the second half. Deepak Rai replied in the 54th for Machhindra before adding two more in the 68th and 70th minute.

Army, Police race for title

KATHMANDU: Two departmental teams, Tribhuvan Army Club and Mahendra Police Club (MPC), will vie for the Martyrs Memorial San Miguel ‘A’ Division League championship when they face each other on Thursday.

The Armymen have an advantage over the Policemen as the former need just a draw while the latter will have to register an outright win to claim the championship. The Army club have 63 points while the Policemen have 62 points going into the Thursday’s decider.

The Policemen have won two league titles (2012, 2013 BS) under the name of Police Force-XI while the Armymen have one title (2014 BS) under the name of Army-XI. — HNS