Mayor Cup T20

BHAIRAHAWA: Shivashakti Cricket Club recorded win in the first Mayor Cup T20 Running Shield Cricket Tournament here at the Siddhartha Stadium on Sunday.

Shivashakti defeated Buddha Cricket Academy by eight wickets. Opting to bat first, Buddha were bowled for 108 runs in 19.1 overs before Shivashakti raced to victory in 16.5 overs with eight wickets in hand.

Meanwhile, Sai Global Cricket Club and Professional Masters shared points after both the teams scored 102 runs.

Batting first, Sai Global posted 102-7 before Professional Masters reached 102-6 in the in 17-over-a-side match.

A total of eight teams are competing in the tournament organised by Siddharthanagar Municipality.

Top two teams will receive Rs 50,000 and Rs 25,000 respectively, while the best player will be awarded with Rs 10,000.