Morang beat Kathmandu, win deaf cricket tourney

Lalitpur, February 4

Morang defeated Kathmandu by 66 runs in the final of the eighth National Deaf Cricket Tournament here at the Institute of Engineering grounds today.

Opting to bat first, Morang scored 128-4 in 20 overs before packing Kathmandu for 62 runs in 13 overs. Morang posted the fighting total riding on Mohammad Sabir’s unbeaten 32-ball 37 that included four boundaries. Zulfakar Ansari remained not out on 18 off 19, while Subodh Thapa (23) and Laln Chaudhary (20) also contributed in double figures. Thapa’s 29-ball innings included four boundaries and Choudhary struck a four.

In reply, Kathmandu were packed cheaply as Ribesh Shrestha being the lone batsman to reach double figure mark scoring 15 off 28 balls hitting a four. Morang’s Lalan Choudhary picked up four wickets.

Champions Morang bagged Rs 50,000, while Kathmandu earned Rs 40,000. Third-placed Sunsari got Rs 30,000. Morang’s Lalan Choudhary was named the man-of-the-series and best bowler’s awards. He earned Rs 50,000 in total. Morang’s Mohammad Sabir was named the best batsman and received Rs 30,000. National Sports Council Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista handed over the prizes to the winners.