Nairy to lead Nepal in women’s cricket

Kathmandu, July 5:

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) today announced the 14-member squad for the upcoming ACC Women’s Cricket Tournament slated for July 11-18 in Johor, Malaysia.

Nairy Thapa will lead the Nepali women’s team that is playing the first international competition. Nitu Thapa is the vice captain. Junga Bahadur Thapa has been named the coach while former national team skipper LB Chhetry and first woman scorer Pabitra Raut were nominated manager and assistant manager respectively.

Other players in the final 14 are Mamata Thapa, Manisha Rawal, Binu Budha Magar, Keshari Chaudhary, Trishna Singh, Sita Rana, Nira Rajopadhyaya, Saraswati Lamgade, Madhu Thapa, Susmita Chaudhary, Maya Rawat and Ritu Kanaujiya.

Radhika Thapa, Samikshya Aryal, Samjhana Sharma and Janaki Bhatta were named as reserve players. Nepal are drawn in Group A along with Hong Kong, Malaysia and Thailand. Bangladesh, China, Singapore and UAE are in Group B. Nepal will take on Thailand on July 12, Malaysia on July 14 and Hong Kong on July 15.