Beach Volleyball begins in Pokhara

Pokhara, June 20

Nepal Police Club made winning start in the sixth National Beach Volleyball Tournament here on Thursday.

The NPC team of Mahendra Kunwar and Toran Chand registered a 21-18, 21-9 victory over Nepal APF Club duo Mahendra Shrestha and Bijay Thapa Magar in the opening match. In other matches, Man Bahadur Shrestha and Dil Sunuwar of Tribhuvan Army Club beat Karnali Province ‘B’ 21-5, 21-13, while Gandaki duo Sanju Bikram Shah and Ramesh KC recorded a 21-12, 21-12 victory over NPC’s Dhruba KC and Prakash Katuwal.

In women’s section, NPC’s Kopila Upreti and Nita Shah defeated Shashi Chaudhary and Puja Chaudhary of APF 21-16, 21-12, while NPC team of Manisha Chaudhary and Pushpa Chaudhary beat Gandaki’s Rupa Thapa and Purnima Thakur 21-14, 21-15. Also winning on the opening day were APF’s Binita Budhathoki and Nebika Chaudhary, and TAC’s Manisha Khand and Pushpa.

A total of 31 teams — 17 men and 14 women — are taking part in the three-day tournament. Top three teams in both sections will get Rs 30,000, Rs 20,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively. The best players will earn Rs 3,000 each. Earlier, former Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal inaugurated the tournament.