National Sports Briefs

NIMS claim trophy

KATHMANDU: Hosts Niten Memorial School (NIMS) and Unique Academy won the first Niten Thakuri Memorial Inter-school Basketball Tournament on Sunday. In the girls' section, NIMS defeated Kantipur 30-15, riding on 15 points from Mina Gautam. Mina was later adujudged the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the tournament. Unique crushed NIMS 'A' 68-53 to win the boys' title. Tshering Sherpa posted the match-winning 28 points for Unique. Manish Tamang of Unique was awarded with the MVP award in boys' section. Excelsior School and Daffodil were declared the Fair Play teams in the girls' and boys' sections respectively.

New Shrine through

KATHMANDU: New Shrine and HIMS entered the final of the first Midland Inter-school Mini Boys Basketball Tournament. New Shrine saw off Grammar Public School 39-27 with Ajay Sapkota contributing 14 points. Manjol KC of Grammar top scored in the match with 17 points but could not revert his tem's loss. In the second semi-final match, Jigme Norby posted 17 points as HIMS beat Skylark 46-27. Sandeep Lama netted 10 points for Skylark.