NCC outplay Shankar Dev to win University Cricket Cup

Kathmandu, April 11

Nepal Commerce Campus won the title of the Sponsor University Cricket Cup here at the TU Stadium on Tuesday.

Abinash Adhikari’s all-round show helped NCC thrash Shankar Dev Campus by six wickets in the final match. Opting to bat first, Shankar Dev scored 131-9 before NCC raced to victory in 18.1 overs with six wickets in hand.

Siddhant Katuwal’s unbeaten 30-ball 36 that included four boundaries and a six helped Shankar Dev post a fighting total. Ayushman Bam and Arun Airee scored 24 runs each. Bam and Airee hit three and four boundaries respectively.

Abinash Adhikari, Lokendra Chand, Nabin Thapa and Roshan Budal claimed two wickets each for NCC, who chased down the target riding on the man-of-the-match Abinash Adhikari’s 33-ball 35 and Dhiraj Adhikari’s 27-ball 38. Abinash hit four boundaries and a six, while Dhiraj hammered seven boundaries and a six.

NCC earned Rs 100,000, while runners-up Shankar Dev got Rs 50,000. NCC’s Nabin Thapa and Pawar Shrestha were named the best bowler and best fielder respectively, while Shankar Dev’s Ashish Pokharel got the best player’s award and his teammate Ayushman Bam was adjudged the best batsman. Afzal Mansuri of TU Central Campus was named the emerging player.