Nepal | May 20, 2019

Nepal make it two in a row

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, January 13

Nepal women’s national cricket team defeated Malaysia by six wickets to register their second consecutive victory in the Women’s Twenty20 Smash at the Terdthai Cricket Ground in Bangkok today.

Batting first, Malaysia were bowled out for 61 runs in 19.3 overs before Nepal raced to 62-4 in 16.2 overs. Nepal had defeated China by 10 wickets in their previous match yesterday.

Sarita Magar was the pick of the Nepali bowlers taking 4-11 from 3.3 overs, while Kabita Kunwar, Indu Barma and Nary Thapa claimed one wicket each. Nepali players were also strict in fielding as they affected three run outs — two by Nary Thapa and one by Kabita Kunwar.

Only two batters from Malaysian side were able to score in double figures. Siow Tzin Yee top scored with 12 off 22 balls, while opener Yusrina Yaakop struck the lone four of the innings in her 24-ball 11. Malaysia lost opener Emylia Eliani with just five runs on the board and never recovered. The batters could not play freely and the 19-run stand between Yaakop and Yee was the highest partnership of the innings.

In reply, Nepal lost opener Kajal Shrestha (six) with 14 runs on the board and Indu Berma (three) was also dismissed cheaply. Sita Rana Magar, who scored 16 off 26 balls hitting a four, lost her wicket in the last ball of the 10th over with 32 runs on the board, while Sarita Magar (naught) was run out six runs later as Nepal came under pressure at 38-4.

Roma Thapa and Mamata Chaudhary, who made her T20 International debut from the match, guided the team home without further loss adding 24 runs for the unbroken fifth wicket. Thapa remained unbeaten on 20 off 24 balls that included a four, while Chaudhary finished with not out nine. Ainna Hamizah Hashim and Jamahidaya Intan took one wicket each for Malaysia.

After the victory, Nepal moved to the top of the Group A table with four points from two matches, while the United Arab Emirates and Indonesia have two each from one game each. Nepal will face the UAE on Monday. A total of 10 teams — divided into two groups of five sides — are taking part in the tournament organised by Thailand Cricket Association.

A version of this article appears in print on January 14, 2019 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: