Nepal Police claim Super Eight crown

Kathmandu, April 1

Nepal Police Club defeated Tip Top by three wickets to win the Khukuri-Devibas Super Eight Cricket Tournament here at the Tribhuvan University Stadium today.

Opting to bat first, Tip Top scored 78-5 in their allotted seven overs before NPC raced to 79-5 in 6.4 overs. Subhendu Pandey’s 26 and Prashanna Shakya’s 24 runs helped Tip Top reach a fighting total. NPC completed the target riding on Shankar Rana’s 32 and Kushal Bhurtel’s 20. Meanwhile, Nagarjuna Cricket Club beat Storm Brand Activation by five wickets to win the third place. Put into bat first, Storm Brand scored 43-7 in seven overs with Sanjay Shrestha scoring 12 runs. In reply, Bam Bahadur Shahu’s 16 runs guided Nagarjuna to 45-3 in five overs.

Earlier, NPC defeated Storm Brand by eight runs and Tip Top saw off Nagarjuna by two runs in semi-final matches. Champions NPC and runners-up Tip Top received Rs 100,000 and Rs 50,000 respectively.

NPC skipper Manjeet Shrestha was named the best player of the tournament and earned Rs 25,000. Sonu Tamang of Tip Top and Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi of Nagarjuna were adjudged the best batsman and bowler respectively and they received Rs 10,000 each. National Sports Council Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament organised jointly by Khukuri ENT and Devibas Events and Media Pvt Ltd.