Nepal Police honour SA Games medallists, footballers

KATHMANDU: Nepal Police today honoured their 11th South Asian Games medal winning players and five members of the football team that reached the AFC President's Cup final with cash rewards and promotion.

Of the 50 Nepal Police players who represented the country in the regional meet, 11 returned with medals — four silver and seven bronze — during the January 29-February 9 event in Dhaka. The SA Games silver medallists Kumar Manandhar and Manita Shahi (taekwondo), Chandra Bhandari (women's football) and Binod Maharjan (karate) were awarded with Rs 15,000 each whereas bronze medallists Ganesh Bahadur Thing (karate), Bikash Shrestha (badminton), Debu Thapa and Radha Devi Rai (judo), Ajay Suwal and Deep Saun (TT team event), and Shanti Malla, Nirmala Bista, Nitu Gurung, Sangita Gautam and Netra Kumari Thapa (kabbadi) received Rs 10000 apiece.

Apart from cash, Chandra, Nirmala, Shanti and Binod were promoted to head constables whereas Ganesh Bahadur and Radha Devi became Assistant Sub-Inspectors (ASI). Of the 2007 AFC President's Cup runner up team, Rakesh Shrestha was promoted from ASI to Sub-Inspector, while other team members Parbat Pandey, Dipak Poudel, Suman Subedi and Ritesh Thapa were promoted to ASIs.

Inspector General of Police (IGP) Ramesh Chand Thakuri presented the insignia and cash rewards to the players today. Nepal Police also informed that other SA Games medallists will also get promotion once they complete their basic training. Six other AFC President's Cup team members have already received promotions.

On the occasion, the five taekwondo players — Dhana Bahadur Chaudhary, Sabina Maharjan, Yam Bahadur Pun, Radhika Shrestha and Ganesh Khadka — were handed over the letters of appreciation for acquiring third DAN degree.

National Sports Council (NSC) Member Secretary Hari Babu Chaudhary and NSC Vice-president Pitambar Timilsina among others were also present during the felicitation function.