Pokhara, December 28:

Nepali Army claimed the men’s team championship and National Team ‘B’ won the women’s team championship here at the final day of the eighth National Taekwondo Tournament here today.

Nepali Army won two gold, two silver and three bronze medals in the men’s section while National Team ‘B’ earned two golds and a silver medal. Overall, the army team claimed two gold, four silver and five bronze medals. Nepal Police bagged four golds and one bronze followed by National Team ‘B’ with three gold and one silver. National Team ‘A’ was content with just three gold medals.

Central Region finished with one gold, two silver and thee bronze medals, Western Region claimed one gold, two silver and four bronze, Mid-western Region was limited to one silver and four bronze medals while Eastern Region bagged one silver and six bronze medals.

Heavyweight player Khem Raj Pun of Western Region was declared the best player of the tournament in men’s section while flyweight player Nitu Shrestha of National Team ‘B’ earned the honour in the women’s section.

Yan Kumari Chaulagai of National Team ‘B’ won the women’s finweight championship beating Ritu Madena of Eastern Region before Samina Maharjan gave the National Team ‘B’ another gold in the women’s bantam weight in today’s finals. Padma Gurung of National Team ‘A’ defeated Nitu Shrestha for women’s flyweight championship.

Puspa Thapa Magar of National Team ‘A’ claimed the men’s finweight with a win over Surendra Shahi of Central Region and Kumar Manandhar of Nepal Police earned the men’s bantamweight gold defeating Prakash Dangaura of Far-western Region.