Nightingale claim Running Shield

KATHMANDU: Nightingale School won the team championship in the first Lalitpur District President Running Shield Inter-school Tournament today. Nightingale earned 61points to finish top of the table followed by Rato Bangala (27) and Himalaya International School and Araniko School (13 each).

Nightingale claimed the boys’ section volleyball title with a 25-19, 25-18, 25-17 win over Namuna School. Mahankal beat Mt Olive 25-4, 25-15, 25-16 to win the third-place decider. Annal Jyoti won the girls’ section trophy with a 25-16, 22-25, 25-18, 25-21 win over Adarsha Soul. Little Angles beat Mt Olive 25-17, 25-22, 25-18 to finish third. Roshan Thapa of Namuna and Prabisha Rai of Annal Jyoti were adjudged the best players.

Bijay Bhusal of Araniko won the boys’ 400m race while Shyam Bahadur BK of Nightingale and Subhash Pandey of Little Angels finished second and third respectively. Sandika Shrestha of Deep Jyoti claimed the girls’ 400m gold ahead of Kajal Maharjan of Mt Olive and Anita Dhital of Sisneri.

Nightingale won the boys’ 4x100m relay gold followed by DAV and Araniko. Rato Bangala clinched the girls’ 4x100m relay gold medal. Nightingale finished second and Mt Olive third. Constituent Assembly member Ram Krishna Chitrakar and the National Sports Council member Niran Khadka among others gave away the prizes.