NITF marks 10th anniversary

Kathmandu, August 7:

Nepal International Taekwondo Federation (NITF) on Tuesday felicitated its players, coaches and foreign figures for their invaluable contribution in the development of the sport in the country.

The best male player of the year-2006 Umesh Rajthala was honoured at a programme organised to mark the 10th anniversary of NITF. Likewise, best female player of the year-2006 Anju Raut, best coach Pravin Kumar Karki, best dojang Bright Future Boarding School and two NITF centres Mt View English School and Motherland Taekwondo Dojang were also felicitated.

Dr Andy Mencia of the United States, Master Paul Kutler of Britain, Master Jo Chol of Korea and Master Ali Tiyo of Malaysia were among the foreign nationals who were honoured for their contribution to the sport. None of the foreign figures were present during the programme.

National Sports Council vice-president Sita Ram Maskey and Nepal Sports Journalists Forum president Niranjan Rajbanshi gave away the letters of appreciation.

Speaking on the occasion, the NITF president Krishna Bahadur Balal said they had planned to organise four national-level tournaments — third General Choi Memorial Taekwondo in Palpa, fifth Senior Taekwondo in Lalitpur, fourth Junior Taekwondo in Biratnagar and first Manmohan Memorial Taekwondo in Butwal.