NSC forms 15-member ad hoc committee to hold Cricket Association of Nepal's fresh elections

KATHMANDU: National Sports Council on Friday formed a 15-member ad hoc committee to run the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) for the time being and hold its fresh elections within three months.

In the new committee, Ramesh Silwal has been appointed the president and former Nepal captain, Pawan Agrawal, the general secretary. CPN-UML lawmaker Rabindra Adhikari is one of the three vice-presidents.

Silwal, who runs a private college in Kathmandu, was vice president in CAN executive committee earlier.

Two business persons --Nirvana Chaudhary of Chaudhary Group and Ritu Singh Vaidya of Vaidya's Organisation-- also feature in the ad hoc committee as members.

CAN's ad hoc committee

President: Ramesh Silwal

Vice-Presidents: Rabindra Adhikari, Shailesh Karmacharya, Dipak Saud

General Secretary: Pawan Agrawal

Secretary: Purna Lama

Treasurer: Bharat KC

Members: LB Chhetri, Diwakar Paudel, Dr Hari Shankar Shah, Suresh Lal Shrestha, Ritu Singh Vaidya, Nirvana Chaudhary, Ranjit Tamang, Binaya K Pokhrel

Following controversial election of CAN's new executive committee last month, the National Sports Council had stepped in and told CAN's CEO Bhawana Ghimire to take charge of the Nepali cricket body's day-to-day affairs for the time being.

Earlier, the NSC had prepared to form CAN's executive committee comprising youth leaders from the major parties, including Yogesh Bhattarai of CPN-UML and Gagan Thapa of Nepali Congress, according to highly placed sources.

With this, three committees are in existence as the elected committee headed by Chatur Bahadur Chand and the other formed by the Ministry of Youth and Sports in Binay Raj Pandey's leadership have not been dissolved.

It is to note that Silwal is the general secretary in the committee headed by Pandey.