Kathmandu, June 17

Nepal Olympic Committee President Jeevan Ram Shrestha hoisted the national flag to kick start week-long the Olympic Day 2016 celebration here at the Basantapur Durbar Square on Friday.

NOC office bearers and athletes were joined by school children, teachers, Olympians, officials from national associations, artists, representatives from Nepali Army, APF, Nepal Police sports journalists in a mass rally, which was facilitated by United School.

A total of 54 events —mostly organised by national association under the auspices of Sports for All Commission — will be organised in the week-long celebration to mark the Olympic Day on June 23. NOC General Secretary Lama Tendi Sherpa hoisted the International Olympic Committee flag during the inauguration ceremony.

Spikers feted

Nepal Volleyball Association took the opportunity to felicitate the 12th South Asian Games bronze medal winning women’s team.

Players Binita Budhathoki, Majnu Gurung, Nebica Chaudhary, Saraswati Chaudhary, Aruna Shahi, Pratibha Mali, Manisha Chaudhary, Kamala Pun, Koplia Upreti, Reshma Bhandari, Kripa Adhikari and Usha Bista were handed over Rs 10,000 each.

Also, NOC General Secretary Sherpa handed over certificate to Rita Koirala, who was nominated as the NVA executive committee Member on National Sports Council quota.

All Nepal Judo

Sarita Chaudhary of Nepal Police Club and Manita Shrestha Pradhan of PAM won gold medals in the All Nepal Senior Judo Championship. Chaudhary defeated Manisha Maharjan of CWCN in women’s below-48kg final, while the 12th SA Games silver medallist Pradhan beat Devi Khadka of APF in below-57kg at the International Sports Complex.

In men’s section, NPC judokas Umesh Magar (below-60kg), Santosh Sunuwar (below-81kg) and Shree Ram Makaju (below-90kg) clean swept gold medals.

Sports for All Commission President Bishnu Gopal Shrestha and Nepal Judo Association President Deepak Harsha Bajracharya among others handed over the prizes to the winners.

APF claim title

Nepal APF Club won the team title of the first National Fencing Championship here at the NSC covered hall.

APF earned 19 points in men’s section and added 17 in women’s events.

Jung Giri defeated fellow APF player Sukhi Ram Tamang in men’s individual Epee final, while Rakhi Sharma of Kaski beat Sukumaya Ghising of APF in women’s final.

APF also bagged Epee team gold medals. Tribhuvan Army Club came second in men’s section, while Shivapuri won silver in women’s category.

In Foil events, TAC and APF won gold medals.

NOC President Shrestha, Vice-president Purendra Bikram Lakhe, Member Nilendra Raj Shrestha and Nepal Badminton Association President Ramji Bahadur Shrestha handed over the prizes to the winners of the two-day tournament organised by Nepal Fencing Association to mark the Olympic Day.

School Chess

Bishal Sunuwar of Greenland and Manisha Jaiswal of Deep Jyoti won the titles of the Triyog Inter-school Chess Tournament. Mohammad Adnam Adil of Annapurna and Apil Rimal of Deep Jyoti came second and third in boy’s section, while Chandrawati Pandit and Tejaswani Tamang of Triyog finished behind Jaiswal in girls’ category.

Santosh Sapkota and Samriddhi Pandey won gold medals in lower secondary section, while Prabesh Lama and Sristina Shrestha came first in primary category.

Nepal Chess Association President Eklal Shrestha, Executive Director of Triyog School Ajit Lama and Principal Nilendra Pariyal gave away prizes to the winners.