Pakistan elect to bat against New Zealand

JOHANNESBURG: Pakistan captain Younus Khan elected to bat against New Zealand after winning the toss in the Champions Trophy semi-final here on Saturday.

The winners will meet defending champions Australia, who thrashed England by nine wickets in the first semi-final at Centurion on Friday. The final will be played on Monday.

Pakistan made two changes from the side that lost to Australia in their last league match, bringing in Mohammad Aamer and Imran Nazir in place of Mohammad Asif and Misbah-ul-Haq.

Pakistan: Younus Khan (capt), Kamran Akmal, Imran Nazir, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Yousuf, Shahid Afridi, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul, Rana Naved-ul Hasan, Mohammad Aamer, Saeed Ajmal.

New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (capt), Brendon McCullum, Aaron Redmond, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Neil Broom, James Franklin, Kyle Mills, Ian Butler, Shane Bond.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (AUS) and Ian Gould (ENG)