Paudyal clinches New Year Cup crown

Kathmandu, January 2

Sanjay Paudyal won the title of the New Year Cup Golf Tournament here at the Royal Nepal Golf Club on Saturday.

Played under stableford 3/4 handicap format, Paudyal accumulated 36 points to claim the trophy, while Kishan Agrawal came second with 34 points. Gopal Chitrakar won the gross section title with 29 points.

Pratima Sherpa lifted the women’s section trophy with 39 points, whereas Pushpa Rai was second with 26 points. Sherpa also bagged the most birdies award with three birdies.

Maj Him Raj Gurung won the senior section title with 30 points, while Rajendra Man Sherchan was second with 28. Mithun Rai and Sonny

Baral won the longest drive and closest-to-the-pin awards respectively.

Ambassador of Myanmar U Lwin Oo, Vice-president of RNGC Tashi Ghale, Captain Maj Narendra Kumar Rai and IPP Prachanda Bahadur Shrestha handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament.

Meanwhile, RNGC also awarded the monthly medal women’s section winner Arshiya Banu and runner-up Pushpa Rai. The tournament was held on December 19, last year.