Nepal | July 18, 2019

Policemen top group, Province-5 win rain-hit match against APF

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, June 2

Nepal Police Club thrashed Province-2 by 156 runs, while Province-5 defeated Nepal APF Club by three wickets in the Expert Prime Minister Cup One Day Cricket Tournament here today.

With their fourth straight win, NPC accumulated eight points and advanced to the semi-finals as Group B winners.

Tribhuvan Army Club finished runner-up with six points. Province-2 (four) were eliminated along with Province-1 (two) and winless Karnali Province.

In Group A, APF are at the top with six points from four matches and they have already secured the semi-finals berth. Province-3 are second with four points and Province-5 moved to third with three from three matches.

Farwest Province (one) and Gandaki Province, who are yet to open their accounts, have played two matches each.

At the TU Stadium, NPC posted 253-9 in their 50 overs before packing Province-2 to a paltry 97 runs in 29 overs. Amit Shrestha top scored for NPC with a quick fire 50 off 42 balls, while opener Sunil Dhamala struck three fours in his 77- ball 43. Anil Kumar Sah (37) and Kushal Bhurtel (35) were other main contributors for NPC. Samsad Sheikh was the pick of the Province-2 bowlers with figures of 4-41, while Rashaid Khan took 2-40.

In reply, Province-2 were never in contention and they lost wickets at regular interval.

Opener Hari Shankar Shah top scored with 29 off 35 balls, while skipper Mehboob Alam struck three sixes in his 16-ball 21. Man-ofthe-match Dipendra Singh Airee was the chief destroyer as he returned with 5-28 from 10 overs, while Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi claimed 3-21 and Kushal Bhurtel grabbed one wicket for NPC.

At Mulpani, APF were bowled out for 184 runs in 49.4 overs before Province-5 — who got the revised target of 142 runs from 32 overs after rain disrupted the match — reached 143-7 with 13 balls to spare.

Pradeep Singh Airee top scored for APF with 77 off 131 balls, while Sandeep Jhora was the second best with run-a-ball 22. Krishna Karki took 3-32 for Province-5, while Sandeep Sunar claimed 2-26.

In reply, Pranit Thapa Magar top scored for Province-5 with an unbeaten 30 off 33 balls. Saurav Khanal made 29 off 36 balls, while Shubhendu Pandey struck two fours in his 37-ball 20.

Amar Singh Routela took 2-26 for APF, while Abinash Bohara, Bhuvan Karki and skipper Prithu Baskota grabbed one wicket each.

A version of this article appears in print on June 03, 2019 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: