Prez Bhandari inaugurates NSC C’ship

Lalitpur, December 24

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari inaugurated the first edition of the NSC Championship here at the International Sports Complex in Satdobato today.

President Bhandari handed over Olympic Torch to the first international medal winning legendary athlete Jeet Bahadur KC and national flags to two school children during the opening ceremony. Olympian KC then lit the cauldron.

Meanwhile, President Bhandari said focus should be given to school sports for the production of talented players. “Nepali athletes have been able to win medals for the country with limited resources and making the nation proud. So, the concerned bodies need to focus on school sports to produce players,” said Bhandari.

Bhandari also asked the sports associations to be dedicated for the development of the sports sector in the country. “We can achieve desired results if the national sports associations be fully dedicated towards sports,” added Bhandari. “We also need to give special attention for the infrastructure development for the South Asian Games. It is necessary to reconstruct the sports infrastructures damaged by the earthquake.”

The championship features a total of 29 sports disciplines which will be held in different parts of the country. The associations also took part in march past, while taekwondo and wushu presented the demonstration apart from cultural performances from various groups.

The NSC has selected peacock as the mascot of the championship with “My Legacy, My Pride, My Sports” being the slogan. The national associations will hold the tournaments from December 24 to January 23 next year in different parts of the country, with 12 events being held outside the valley.

Four associations — swimming, triathlon, karate and tennis — have already finished their tournaments.

A total of 4,082 players, including 2,249 men and 1,791 women, are competing in the championship that offers 615 each gold and silver medals as well as 897 bronze medals.

NSC has allocated budget to the national associations and they are responsible of organising the tournaments. The All Nepal Football Association has been allocated with the highest amount of Rs 2.2 million, while volleyball will get two million rupees. Likewise, karate, taekwondo, athletics and basketball will get Rs 1.8 million each.