Radwanska wins Eastbourne title

Eastbourne, June 21:

Agnieszka Radwanska of Poland won her third title of the year today, beating Nadia Petrova of Russia 6-4, 6-7, 6-4 in the final of the Eastbourne International Women’s Open.

Radwanska, seeded fourth, joined Serena Williams and Maria Sharapova as the tour’s only three-time winners in 2008. She also won in Thailand and Turkey and has four career titles. Petrova has not won a title since the Paris Indoor in February 2007.

In a match where both players struggled to hold serve, Radwanska broke three times to go up 4-2 in the first set. She failed to serve out the set when leading 5-3, but broke back with a forehand winner. Petrova broke to lead 2-1 in the second before Radwanska made it 4-4. In the tiebreaker, Radwanska missed three match points before Petrova evened the match on her fourth set point. In the decider, Radwanska broke for a 5-4 lead when Petrova made a forehand error, and then closed out on her fifth match point.

Ordina Open DEN BOSCH: Thai qualifier Tamarine Tanasugarn defeated third-seeded Dinara Safina 7-5, 6-3 on Saturday to win her first grass-court title at the Ordina Open.

Playing with a bandaged thigh, Tanasugarn clinched the win with a powerful forehand winner. Safina, the 2006 runner-up in Den Bosch and a semi-finalist last year, said Tanasugarn was the better player. “She has a lot of experience and she played well today,” Safina said.