Rai wins NMB C’ship

Kathmandu, October 7 :

Surendra Rai won the seventh Nepal Mountain Bike Championship organised by Nepal Mountain Bike Association in Tokha today.

Rai finished the 37.5km course in one hour, 56 minutes and 13 seconds ahead of defending champion Suresh Kumar Dulal to claim the Elite Open title. Dulal finished the race in 2:01.33 while Dipendra Bajracharya came third with 2:06.45.

Aang Gelu Sherpa claimed the Masters Open title with the timings of 2:04.50. Chandra Bahadur Chhetri came second with at the 37.5km race in 2:06.44 followed by Wayne Dellar with 2:12.50.

Herman Thapa won the 22.5km Junior Championship completing the race in 1:07.40 followed by Avay Pandit (1:08.24). Raj Kumar Nepali finished in 1:18.40.

Nirjala Tamrakar (1:31.26) was declared the champion of the Women’s Open despite ending up as runner up to Sandra Oleger (1:20.36). As the tournament was the national event, Tamrakar was awarded the championship.