Rajbanshi, Pariyar win 100m golds


Phul Kumar Rajbanshi and Sunita Pariyar won 100m and 200m gold medals on the second and final day of the 20th Inter-school Special Games here at the Dasharath Stadium today.

Rajbanshi claimed the 100m gold in 12.06 seconds and won 200m race in 28.16 seconds in the differently-abled category, while Pariyar won the races in 16.81 seconds and 37.53 seconds respectively. Rajan Pun and Surya Bahadur Bhujel finished second and third respectively in both the races in boys’ section. In girls’ section, Khusbu Jaiswal and Sima won silver and bronze in 100m, while Muna Puri and Asha Chaudhary finished second and third respectively in 200m.

In shot put, Lokendra Gharti Magar won gold with the throw of 7.50m, while Rajbansi took silver and Purushottam claimed bronze medal. Pariyar claimed her third gold medal of the Games when she won the girls’ shot put title, ahead of Puja Shrestha and Hira Devi. In 100m wheelchair race, Rohit Kumar Shrestha won gold in 35.82 seconds, while Jenisha Kathaet and Sandhya Sunar took silver and bronze respectively.

In the visually-impaired section, Man Singh Bista won gold with the jump of 2.26m, while Rabin Jimi and Basu Mishra won silver and bronze medal in long jump. In girls’ section, Sabina Bhattarai, Srijana Nepali and Champa Kumari claimed top three spots respectively. Amar Dip Rai and Shanta Mahato won shut put gold medals, while Amar Dip Rai and Sarita Ayoul claimed gold medals in softball throw.

In visually-impaired category, Aadesh Basel and Sarita Shrestha won long jump gold medals. The top three athletes in all the sections received Rs 1,500, Rs 1,000 and Rs 500 respectively. National Sports Council Member and tournament convenor Mohammad Samiullh, advisor Saligram Khadka, and Departmental heads Prakash Chandra Ghimire and Kamal Khanal handed over the prizes to the winners. A total of 282 players participated in the two-day tournament.