Magar claims National Downhill Championship

Kathmandu, March 25

Rajesh Magar won the Individual Elite category title of the seventh National Downhill Championship here in Hattiban today.

Magar finished the 1.84km race in two minutes and 30 seconds to win the trophy. Shakar Yakthumba came second in 2:36, while Suman Tamang finished third in 2:40. The top three cyclists earned berths in the Asian Cycling Championship to be held in China three months later.

Similarly, Rajan Bhandari finished first in the Individual Open category with the timing of two minutes and 18.01 seconds, while Suman Gurung (2:23.01) and Hikmat BK (2:23.10) were second and third respectively. In junior section, Prachit Thapa Magar won the title in two minutes and 17.01 seconds, finishing ahead of Nirav Shrestha (2:17.45) and Diwas Adhikari (2:20.02).

A total of 26 cyclists — eight in Elite and nine each in Open and Junior sections — took part in the event organised by Nepal Cycling Association under the auspices of Lalitpur Cycling Association. NCA President Chhimi Urkyen Gurung handed over the prizes to the winners of the event which was managed by Life Cycle Nepal and Epic Events Nepal.