Rana clinches amateur trophy

Kathmandu, March 21:

Robin Rana claimed the CMS Cup amateur championship here at Royal Nepal Golf Club (RNGC) today.

Played under stableford 7/8 handicap format, Rana scored 40 points to edge out overnight leader Indra Thapa. Rana scored 18 points in the front nine but bounced back on the back nine scoring 22 points. Thapa, who played on Friday had to satisfy for the second place.

Kalyani Moktan who posted a card of 29 points won the ladies honour. Sandya Rai scored 27 points to finish second. Likewise, Dil Gurung bagged the best gross award with 27 points. Binay Raj Pandey scored 34 points to win the senior section title ahead of Maj MB Limbu (33). KJ Baral was the winner amongst the octogenarian and Himalayan Shumsher Rana the runner up.

Rupak Acharya, who won the amateur section trophy during the main the CMS Open Golf Championship on Thursday, won the guest section with 36 points. Sudhir Sherchan came second at 31.

NPGA president Rabindra Man Shrestha bagged most birdies award, Lachhim Prasad Gurung the closest to the pin and Gopal Chitrakar the longest drive awards. Single handcapped player Mithun Rai got best sportsmanship award.

Winner of the CMS Open 2009, Shiva Ram Shrestha, runner-ups Ramesh Nagarkoti and Rabi Khadka along with top 16 pros received cash prizes. Winners of the All Nepal Caddies tournament also received prizes.

A total of 111 golfers played the tournament between Friday and Saturday. The event was organised by RNGC under the sponsorship of International Society of Medical Studies (ISME) Pvt Ltd.

Chairman of ISME Nagender Pampati, RNGC president Madhukar Yakthumba, NGA president Vinode SJB Rana, NPGA president Rabindra Man Shrestha, CAN president Binay Raj Pandey and CEO of Himalayan Bank Ashoke SJB Rana gave away the prizes to the winners.