Rana clinches NGFR Championship

KATHMANDU: Neeraj SJB Rana won the fourth Nepal Golfing Fellowship of Rotarians (NGFR) Championship here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Played under stableford 3/4 handicap format, Rana accumulated 39 points, while Lt Gen KNS Thapa came second with 38 points. Rabindra Man Shrestha, who is also the president of Nepal PGA, finished third with 35 points.

RR Pandey, who scored 35 points, was the best among the Rotarians, while Ang Tsering Sherpa was second with 33 points. Kencho Ongdi Lama won the ladies section award with 38 points, ahead of Els Schapendonk (37).

Maj LB Gurung came first among senior (above 60) golfers, while Luniva Shakya won the junior (13-17yrs) section award. Other winners included Neeraj Rana (longest drive), SM Hong (closest-to-the-pin) and Wang Yi (most birdies).

A total of 98 golfers including 12 ladies and 25 rotarians took part in the event. District Governor (District 3292) Rotarian Ratna Man Shakya, Rotarian Pradeep Kumar Shrestha CEO of Ncell Pasi Koistinen, Rotarian Purna Man Shakya and Rotarian Tirtha Man Shakya gave away the prizes to the winners.